All About Healthy Choices by Dr Jonathan

Dr Jonathan posts about improving our lifestyle in order to prevent sickness.  His posts encourage us to make healthier choices instead of always opting for easy solutions eg potions and pills.  He lives what he blogs about which I find admirable plus his philosophy aligns with my own perfectly. Dr J has been visiting and commenting on my posts it seems almost since the day I started blogging.  So if you are serious about getting and staying healthy this is definitely the blog for you!

WHERE WERE YOU RAISED?

I was born in New York and lived a majority of my life on Long Island. I also lived in Queens, N.Y. and New York City. My father was a traveling salesman and was on the road approximately 6 months of the year. My mother was a “stay at home” mom.

I was raised in a middle class neighborhood and LIVED to play sports. I remember telling my parents when I was in junior high school that I would do my homework after I finished playing sports with my friends. Needless to say, I was rudely awakened by their response which (paraphrased) sounded like, “Oh no, you will do ALL your homework FIRST and then play all the sports you desire in the remaining time. You have never seen homework done so QUICKLY. It’s about the only thing I’ve done FAST in life!

 

DO YOU LIVE FAR FROM THERE NOW?

I have lived the last 24 years in North Carolina. This is about 700+ miles from New York. Prior to living in North Carolina, I lived in Iowa for 5 years. This is where I attended Palmer College of Chiropractic. This was my reason for living there. I assure you, Iowa is NOT the vacation capital of the world!

 

Please share something about your FAMILY?

I was the youngest of three children having two older sisters. Needless to say, I didn’t start speaking until I was 3 years old having two older sisters and a mother to “provide” for my “needs.” I was taken to the pediatrician to see if I had any learning impairment. The pediatrician asked how my “needs were handled?” He was told I would point and my sisters or mother would handle it. The doctor told my mother to let me ask for it rather than running every time I pointed. My parents claim my first words were mom and dad but I’m pretty sure their lack of response to my extended finger would have motivated some explicative language prior to saying mom or dad.

One interesting point about my siblings is our choice for careers. All of us went into fields to help improve people’s lives. My middle sister worked for organizations that helped poor people and abused people living in New York City; my oldest sister became an ESL (English as a second language) teacher and I became a Chiropractic Physician.

I married a wonderful North Carolinian (Elaine) in 2003. She is a beautiful person inside and out. We have a stubborn, but much loved beagle named Tucker. At 55 years of age, my wife informed me that Tucker would have to be our ONLY addition since children would not be coming out of her uterus! She owns an Anti-Ageing business that uses micro-current to NATURALLY increase collagen and elastin to help reduce wrinkles and lift facial features without causing any harm or down time. She loves her business.

Jonathan and Elaine

Please tell us about your EDUCATION?

K-12 took place on Long Island, N.Y.

I attended New York University as an undergraduate and majored in Politics. Initially I intended to go to law school. Realising this career would require (based on the area of interest I had) me to denigrate perfectly good, credible and honest people to achieve “wins” regardless of truth and personal feelings. I abandoned this idea. Becoming a doctor gave me a chance to help educate people and provide treatments that could improve the quality of their lives. I knew going to sleep each night would be simpler and more pleasurable with this career choice over the previous one.

I attended Palmer Chiropractic College in Iowa (1000 mile drive from my New York residence) even though New York Chiropractic College was a 30 minute drive away. Palmer was attended by people all over the world because of its reputation and history. Davenport, Iowa is where Chiropractic began in 1895.

and your WORK?

At 12, I began my first job as a newspaper delivery boy. After realising that delivering newspapers in the rain, cold and snow for nickel, dime and sometimes quarter tips wasn’t much fun, I chose to move on and mow yards. At 13, my father chipped in 50% to help me buy a Lawnboy lawn mower and Black and Decker Electric edger. I developed a healthy client base (90% were my parent’s friends.) I wasn’t very good, but was reliable and smiled a lot. That seemed to pacify my “clients” considering my less than stellar performance.

At 16 I went to work for a grocery chain after getting my driver’s license. I was fired 7 times but rehired every time because I was a good, hard worker. It was my unwillingness to be disrespected by those in charge that kept getting me fired. Apparently, however, my work ethic superseded my intolerance for disrespectful authority.

After college I needed a break so I went to work in a Tuxedo rental store for 1 year. Well, 1 year turned into 7 years and nearly resulted in a partnership with the owner. His definition of 50/50 partnership and my definition differed GREATLY.

My love for exercise, health and nutrition put me back in college to pursue a degree in physical therapy. My fellow classmates were completing pre-requisites for physical therapy as well as pre-requisites for chiropractic college. After researching this “chiropractic thing” I was intrigued. Needless to say, I jumped in with both feet and never looked back.

 

Have you TRAVELLED?

I am a strong believer in “living for today,” but not at the expense of tomorrow. After opening my clinic in North Carolina and practicing for three years, I was ready to begin traveling. I have gone to the Caribbean half a dozen times or so, Europe (on land vacations as well as cruise vacations,) Mexico (a half a dozen times or so) as well as short trips to the mountains and beaches. I cycled for many years covering more than 15000 miles and covered the northern east coast as well as the southern states including Virginia, South Carolina and North Carolina.

 

Why, when and how did you start BLOGGING?

I retired from practice in 2014. I was only 55 years old and my passion for health, nutrition and exercise was just as strong as ever. I began posting small bits of information on Facebook and was receiving private messages that the information I was sharing was important and should be made available to a larger audience. It was suggested I create a blog site. I had no idea what a blog site was! After getting some assistance creating the site, I was ready to go. 20+ years in practice had exposed me to many different situations that could help a whole lot of people. I decided my blog site would be free to everyone to provide resources for people without means. It was my way of giving back to society that had provided me with such wonderful opportunities in life. I continue to provide FREE personal communication with people seeking all types of information associated with health, exercise and nutrition. The only thing I ask in return is when they succeed using any information I provide, they “pay it forward” to help others in need.

I have had some people contact me as a result of a commercial I was part of. The Total Gym is a piece of home exercise equipment (advertised by Chuck Norris and Christy Brinkley) I used as a research project for weight loss. After contacting the people at Total Gym, they thought my story would be good for their product. They flew from California to North Carolina to film me for their commercial. I have exercised for 39 years and attribute this important component of health to the quality of life I’m living.

This is a link to my portion of the commercial.

 

What do you ENJOY ABOUT IT and what have you LEARNED?

Sharing valuable information in a no non-sense approach is my M.O. (modus operandi) I “tell it like it is” however, I do so empathetically and compassionately. When people respond with, “I never realised….” I know I’ve achieved my goal. I tell people it is NOT my job to judge right and wrong; it is my undertaking to provide quality credible information so the consumer can make the best informed health care decisions for themselves and their families.

I have learned that people all over the world have similar concerns regardless of cultural and ethnic differences. It is a challenging task to confront people with traditional ideas and point out possible discrepancies and flaws. In general, people are NOT comfortable with change. The world we live in, however, is dynamic and ALWAYS undergoing change. The more open minded we are to new ideas, the easier and more fruitful change can be. Developing trust and confidence in my readers was my first step to helping them lower their defences and truly LISTEN to new ideas. It has become incredibly rewarding to watch people across the world transform themselves into healthier, happier versions of themselves.

 

What is your FAVOURITE POST?

A SATIRICAL EMAIL TO THE GOVERNMENT, HEALTH CARE INDUSTRY AND HEALTH INSURANCE INDUSTRY

I enjoy a good sense of humour with a touch of sarcasm. This post gave me a chance to deviate from difficult topics I write about. Laughing at your own words as you write them lightens the mood. The message was serious, but the reader was given an opportunity to smile as they acknowledged the content.

Which is your MOST POPULAR POST?

Prescription Medication: Weapons of Mass Deception

 

What is something people DON’T KNOW ABOUT you?

Regardless of how many times I explain to people I can’t walk on water and that I’m not “HIM,” people are still amazed to see me at a movie with buttered popcorn or a TCBY eating a big frozen yogurt with ALL the toppings. I preach BALANCE in life. I live the lifestyle I recommend. This means NO DEPRIVATION! Now, it doesn’t mean eating unlimited “unhealthy food” daily. It means eating quality food 80-90% of the time and “comfort food” 10-20% of the time. This is REALISTIC. My solutions to health problems (including weight problems) deal with REALISTIC SOLUTIONS that result in LONG TERM FIXES! With all this said, people still say, “Dr. Colter, I never thought you would eat something like that!”

10 thoughts on “All About Healthy Choices by Dr Jonathan

Add yours

  1. I agree that Dr. Jonathan is a very credible source of information and he’s also very supportive of others who write about health and wellness. He was even kind enough to be a guest on my podcast last year. I learn something new from each of his articles.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

