Truly Unplugged by Truly

Met Truly through her comments on my posts and felt a strong connection. She is warm honest and caring, this comes through in her posts which are deeply layered and interwoven with word plays on song titles … as I am not so musically inclined I am sure I miss much but she connects with her mix of humour, intrigue, imagination and nostalgia. Her wisdom and compassion shine …

 ******************

Where were you born and raised?
I was born in England, but have lived in Canada since I was six…for the past 12 years, I’ve lived in New Brunswick, but I was raised in Ontario. Mum was a single mother of six, I had two sisters and three brothers.

Now my current family consists of my two dogs and best friend/ (recently) ex-husband….


Please tell us a little about your work and travels?
I work with children and youth…and their families.

As for traveling … nothing note-worthy … unless you count my countless daydreams that take me places beyond imagining.  I would love to visit England one day as I am completely enamoured with the British country side and drawn to many British shows like Midsomer Murders, Poirot, Miss Marple, and Coronation Street … and, of course, the Harry Potter series.

Please share more about your blogging?
I started blogging when a work-friend suggested it…she knows my penchant for thinking deeply about certain things, speaking to the multiple layers of things, and love of philosophical musings, writing, and wordplay.

Blogging is one of the best kinds of instant gratification– in that my novel is a work in progress [one third of the way written, with no [near] end in sight].  Each time I post a blog (which, admittedly, takes several hours–given the nature of my creative process), it feels as though I’ve delivered a mini-novel-offering.  I am delighted to discover how I’ve processed the growth and gains that I’m tackling/making.  I love that blogging allows me to come at it from an angle that highlights the joy, whimsy, humour, imagination, nostalgia, and opportunity for sharing and connection.  Given room to express myself, posts make for the most delicious spoonful of sugar that helps the medicine go down (self-exploration and growth is not for the faint of heart 🙂

Blogging gives me the incentive to write in a way that journal writing never did.  And, although I have long known that I write well, I honestly didn’t know how imaginative and original my writing could be until I started blogging.  I am forever grateful for that … and so grateful for the worlds others have introduced me to.  The blogging community is filled with generous, kind, fascinating, wise, funny, creative, brilliant people who I never would have had the privilege of connecting with otherwise … I am inspired and uplifted by all the giftedness found in this blogging world of ours.

Can you share anything funky or unknown about yourself?
As for something “funky” about myself, I can’t think of anything off the top of my head, but I can say this…I made the most concerted effort to rid myself of my British accent (kids made fun of it) … but, what I wouldn’t give to have it back…and, I can’t even fake it!   I love accents so much…and dimples, and freckles…none of which I have.  My favourite accent might just be Irish or South African…


Please share your favourite and your most popular posts?
As for my favourite post, I’m not sure that I have one–so, I chose one randomly… (Jan. 12/17) “Ebony and Irony“.

My most popular post is About Me (Part A): Covering All My Bases.

Both found at www.trulyunplugged.com

Here is the introduction and part of chapter one for my novel [it clearly demonstrates Truly’s unique writing skills and masterful play of words]

 

 

20 thoughts on “Truly Unplugged by Truly

Add yours

  1. That was such a beautiful and accurate description of Truly and her blog! Thank you so much for sharing more about her. I feel Truly’s warmth shining through every one of her posts. I enjoy being one of her dazzlers!

    I am also very inspired to know there is someone who promotes other bloggers – what a beautiful gift that is!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw, thank you so much, Kate! It’s been an amazing journey and I’ve been very blessed. I appreciate you comment and am honored that you checked mine out. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What a lovely idea, in reading Truly’s replies, I can hear her voice and I’m glad that I found her words (they often are a reflection of my own thoughts but expressed in a highly original way, Truly’s words help me to see life/experiences in a different way!). Thank you, Kate, for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

