Courage Coach by Jennifer

Had noticed Jennifer’s posts but what really attracted me to follow her were her captivating posts about her trip to India, a place I know well. She shared her travels, meals and meet ups with fellow bloggers so well that I really felt like I was on the journey with her. So with all the qualifications she shares with us she can add creative writing to her talents! She has used her grief to write a book about her process that may well help others through their challenges in life and divorce.

 

Where were you raised?

I’m originally from London (not England), Ontario, CanadaJ which is located south of Toronto in the southern part of the province. The Great Lakes are nearby so going to the beach in summer is very popular there. I moved from London when I was 25 for work.

Do you live far from there now?

Yes, now I live in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada which is about an 8-hour drive from London. It’s hard to go home frequently. We have 4 seasons in Canada and winters are freezing cold; -30 Celcius most of the time with lots of snow. Summers are hot and humid +30 Celcius! I love autumn because that’s when the maple leaves change colour and it’s known as harvest time.

20161012_154022

Something about your family?

My parents still live in the London area and I have a brother who lives in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada with his 2 teenage boys and girlfriend. It is a 6-hour drive away from me. I also have 2 teenage boys and as it turns out, all the boys are around the same ages (the 2 youngest are 13 and the 2 older ones are 16) so it’s really fun when we’re all together. Sadly, almost 3 years ago I got divorced which was and still is one of the hardest things to deal with. However, in order to be the best single mother, it became my intention to find positive ways to deal with it and writing was one of them. As it turns out, I wrote a book titled “Winning While Losing: The Upside of Heartbreak” and it’s available on all online bookstores worldwide! It’s not a venting book it’s writing my story which helped me cope through such a stressful time and if it helps anyone else out there then I am grateful.

Your education, work, and travels?

I have been a Registered Nurse forever! Just kidding, only 22 years!! Wow, I feel old…lol.   I trained in London and Toronto earning my Operating Room Specialty, but when I graduated there weren’t many full-time jobs here in Canada, so I headed to the United States to work there so I wouldn’t forget everything I had just learned…lol. It was a great experience, I went to Maine, which is on the US East coast and the scenery is amazing there. I then moved to Vancouver to work there for a few years and later settled in Ottawa and worked in the OR, IVF and Women’s Health. Recently I changed careers and now work in the pharmaceutical industry but with patient support programs. I am a huge patient advocate so it works well for me. I am also a legal nurse expert on the side who analyzes malpractice cases with lawyers to see if nurses met the standards of care in certain operating room cases, hence my love for patient advocacy. I also trained in life coaching because I became very interested in the emotional and mental strength in people and how we all have the solutions inside of us. I have helped many people in this area and find it helps me in return. I guess you can say I am a helping professional in more ways than one. I’ve traveled to different places, such as many states in the USA, across Canada, France, Morocco, Tunisia, India, the Caribbean, and Mexico. I really want to visit Australia and New Zealand one day and if I do, I’ll be able to meet Kate! Travel opens your mind and heart to many possibilities in life. It’s a great way to reflect on what you want.

100_2467

When, why and how did you start Blogging?

I started blogging because of my interest in life coaching. I wanted to advertise my services but also provide content for people. I wanted to write about life topics that we all relate to and not feel so alone. One of my close friends encouraged me to write even though I had no idea where to begin, but I finally did and it’s the best thing I’ve ever done. I’ve been blogging for 4 years already!

What do you most enjoy about blogging and what have you learned?

What I like most about blogging on WordPress is that it’s truly a community of like-minded people. We appreciate each other’s style, topics, comments, and ideas. It’s freedom of expression, creativity and it’s what connects us around the world. I have met some of my fellow bloggers by traveling to their country and it’s something I never dreamed would happen in my life, but I’m so grateful that it did. What I learned most about blogging is that if we all do what we love it enhances our life. Most of us are either working or in school and all ages, cultures and more are widely accepted here which is amazing and makes me happy. It’s a peaceful place where we can find answers and inspiration in a sometimes stressful world.

Please share a link to your favourite post and tell us why it’s your favourite?

At this point in time, my favourite post is about my book release because I am really proud of turning something painful into something beautiful and positive. There are days I can’t believe I actually did it, but as you know, once you get on a roll in writing, it’s hard to stop. I had to get it all out and now good things are starting to happen in my life because of it. I feel more empowered now.

Please share a link to your most popular post?

My most popular post with the most likes is called “Filling Your Heart With Values”. It’s a post I also included in my book and it’s about relationships at work, with friends, family, lovers and ourselves. After all, relationships are everywhere we go and we need to respect and honour them.

 

WWL_Cover

Share something funky about yourself or something most people don’t know?

Something funky about myself is that I love zip lining with my kids. We decided to try this one Mother’s Day just to be different and we had so much fun. It was my first time out and I hope to go back again soon. I might be 46, but I’m still young at heart and plan to keep it that way J

11 thoughts on “Courage Coach by Jennifer

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

